#MondayMeditation: Heart Chakra

This week we continue our chakra work by focusing on the heart chakra or anahata.

Heart Chakra Basics

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and is associated with the heart, lung, and shoulders. The anahata is the seat of love, compassion, peace, and balance. The fourth chakra is at the center of the chakra system and represents the balancing point between the material energy of the lower chakras and spiritual energy of the higher chakras.

When the heart chakra is too closed, we feel isolated, suffer from low self-esteem, and are unable to be open to giving and receiving love. When it is too open, we are co-dependent, clingy, and give away love so freely that we undermine our own needs. Physically, imbalances cause suffering from circulatory and respiratory illness.

When in balance, we are open to giving and receiving love to others and ourselves. Our relationships are healthy; we are able to embrace the highs and lows of relationships and compassionately deal with issues through effective communication. We are able to heal past wounds.

Healing Through Meditation and Pranayama photogrid_1470666530874.jpg

We can awaken the chakras in many ways, including meditation and pranayama, or breath work. Included here are some simple suggestions.

Light meditation: The color of the anahata is green, a highly healing color. Meditate on glowing orb of green light growing at your heart. As this orb begins to spin with the breath, imagine it moving in a spiral pattern through the other chakras. Imagine light and energy moving in a spiral from the heart to the throat, then to solar plexus, then to the third eye, to the sacrum, to the crown of the head, and finally to the root chakra, healing each chakra as you go. Then imagine that energy spiraling back to the heart in the opposite pattern.

Mantra meditation: You can meditate using a simple mantra. The simplest option is to repeat “I love” with each breath, mentally saying “I” with the inhale and “love” with the exhale. Or you could vocalize the Bija mantra of the solar plexus by taking a deep breath in and chanting “LAM” on the exhale (the “a” sounds more like calm than lamb or click here to hear the correct pronunciation).

Pranayama: The element associated with the heart chakra is air. One of the best for bringing balance to the mind is alternate nostril breathing or Nadi Shodhan Pranayama.

  • Sit comfortably with your spine erect and shoulders relaxed.
  • Place your left hand on the left knee, palms open to the sky or in Chin Mudra (thumb and index finger gently touching at the tips).
  • Place the tip of the index finger and middle finger of the right hand in between the eyebrows. We will use the ring finger to open or close the left nostril and thumb for the right nostril.
  • Gently press your thumb down on the right nostril and breathe out through the left nostril.
  • Now breathe in from the left nostril and then press the left nostril gently with the ring finger and little finger. Removing the right thumb from the right nostril, breathe out from the right.
  • Breathe in from the right nostril and exhale from the left. You have now completed one round.
  • Complete 9 rounds.

Until tomorrow, loves,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s